Chapter First Page master page - how do I assign it?

Hi, I’m new to Papyrus Author and I was hoping it would be a bit more straightforward! All I want to do is assign a different master page - one which doesn’t have a header - to the first page of every chapter. I’ve made the master page, but I can’t find any way to make the first page of every chapter use it! Please put me out of my misery and frustration. Thanks in advance.

There is no automatic way to do this. You need a list of chapters and their starting page numbers (for example by creating a table of contents), and then use the Document > Layout > Assign Page Range dialog to assign each chapter the correct master page.

Seriously? This is exactly the kind of fiddly nonsense I hoped Papyrus would take out of my hands! I might as well stick with Word! Can I do it without creating a contents page? I don’t want one! Sorry to be so grumpy, but I’ve just spent hours trying to fathom this out. I appreciate your help.

Just open the Navigator pane which should list all your chapter headings. When you click on a heading, you can see the page number in the status bar at the bottom of the document window (P. x of y). You can then assign the master page for this chapter page (don’t forget to click “Apply”). After that, click on the next heading while the master page window remains open.

Thanks very much for your advice.