How do you as a writer read author interviews?

In the course of my career as a journalist, I have interviewed a number of authors and comic book artists. My audience are people who love books. (Duh.) I’d assume most of us here fall into this category.

But how do you as writers read interviews with authors (if you do)? What do you want to know about authors? Are there questions you find insanely interesting that no one ever seems to ask? Which questions turn you off an interview? And if someone interviewed you about your literary work tomorrow – which questions would you like to answer?

That really depends on whether I like a specific author’s work very much or if it’s “just” somebody whose work is generally very successful. In general, I’ll probably be more interested in the first case, and then I’d probably like to know about any snippet of information they’re willing to share about their process :slight_smile:

Many author interviews I find too generic. ‘How and where do you get your ideas?’ - ‘Over my first coffee while I walk my dog…’ That may be interesting for new writers or readers, less so for writers who’ve been at it for a few years. We know how that works.

I’m more interested in specifics like if they plan beforehand what techniques do they use? Do they involve other persons in their process, like beta-readers or writing groups? At what time in the process? Do they keep in contact with other writers in the same genre? If so, how did they meet those in the first place? Do they exchange writing ideas or is it more of a loose business relationship?

To me, an interview is more of a starting point to find information. I am always on the look-out for video channels by professional authors. There are many channels from photographers, artists, musicians who share all kinds of detailed knowledge. Strangely, it is much harder to find writers who do the same, and I wonder why that is. I would really love this kind of in-depth information.

2 Likes